Contact

What We Do

The St. Louis Park Community Band is dedicated to making beautiful concert band music accessible to all. We provide a perfect mix of challenging music and social atmosphere. We are a friendly group of band members who take our music seriously.  We are recognized as one of top adult concert bands in the state.

We have been bringing music to communities since 1972. Based in St. Louis Park, Minnesota, we are a group of about 65 dedicated musicians from all areas of the Twin Cities Metro Area. Under the direction of Steven G. Lyons, we perform a wide variety of music during our concerts throughout the year. Please see our concert schedule at right for our next appearance.

It is also important to us to share our life-long love of music with young people through joint concerts and instrument donations to underprivileged youths.

How To Contact Us

Rehearsals are held in the band room at St. Louis Park High School.   Access to the band room is on the North side of the school.

Our mailing address is:
4750 East 53rd Street, #405, Minneapolis, MN 55417

Interested in playing?

Contact Jana Hargreaves, Membership@slpband.org

General questions?

Contact Kent Malcomson, President@slpband.org

Gift of music questions?

Contact Sarah Manes, GiftOfMusic@slpband.org

Who We Are

Board Members

President:  Kent MalcomsonPresident@SLPBand.org
Secretary: Sieglinde Grivna – Secretary@SLPBand.org
Treasurer:  Keith Watschke – Treasurer@SLPBand.org
Director: Steve Lyons – Director@SLPBand.org
Member-At-Large:  Ron RasmussenBoardMember1@SLPBand.org
Member-At-Large:  Jenny BlasyBoardMember2@SLPBand.org
Member-At-Large:  Joe RudBoardMember3@SLPBand.org

Section Leaders

Flutes:
Clarinets: Sieglinde Grivna – Clarinets@SLPBand.org
Saxophones: Amy Krauss – Saxes@SLPBand.org
French Horns: Bob Meier – Horns@SLPBand.org
Trumpets: Ed Terhaar – Trumpets@SLPBand.org
Trombones & Low Brass: Linda Stegmeir – Trombones@SLPBand.org
Percussion: Yvonne Thomas – Percussion@SLPBand.org

Volunteer Leads

It takes many hands to make a great community band! Volunteer leads head up various areas and coordinate the activities that support us in many ways. Our success is thanks to each member’s support.
Band wear: Lynn Fiscus – BandWear@SLPBand.org
Booking Coordinator: Kent Malcomson – Booking@SLPBand.org
Calendar Coordinator: Barb Hovey – Calendar@SLPBand.org
Communications: OPEN
Dues Collection: Dick Anderson – Dues@SLPBand.org
Fundraising: OPEN
Gift of Music Coordinator: Sarah Tower Manes – GiftOfMusic@SLPBand.org
Inventory Coordinator: Jana Hargreaves – Inventory@SLPBand.org
Librarian: Sieglinde Grivna – Librarian@SLPBand.org
Membership Coordinator: Jana Hargreaves – Membership@SLPBand.org
Photographer: OPEN
Roster Coordinator:  Ron Rasmussen – Roster@SLPBand.org
School District Liaison: Jim Rhodes – Liaison@SLPBand.org
Social Coordinator: Sarah Manes- Fun@SLPBand.org
Sunshine Crew: OPEN
Treats Coordinator: OPEN
Publicity: OPEN
Volunteer Coordinator: Amy Krauss – Volunteers@SLPBand.org
Webmaster: Amy Krauss – Webmaster@SLPBand.org