What We Do

The St. Louis Park Community Band is dedicated to making beautiful concert band music accessible to all. We provide a perfect mix of challenging music and social atmosphere. We are a friendly group of band members who take our music seriously.  We are recognized as one of top adult concert bands in the state.

We have been bringing music to communities since 1972. Based in St. Louis Park, Minnesota, we are a group of about 65 dedicated musicians from all areas of the Twin Cities Metro Area. Under the direction of Steven G. Lyons, we perform a wide variety of music during our concerts throughout the year. Please see our concert schedule at right for our next appearance.

It is also important to us to share our life-long love of music with young people through joint concerts and instrument donations to underprivileged youths.

How To Contact Us

Rehearsals are held in the band room at St. Louis Park Middle School.   

Our mailing address is:
4750 East 53rd Street, #405, Minneapolis, MN 55417

Interested in playing?

Contact Kent Malcomson,

General questions?

Contact Kent Malcomson,

Who We Are

Board Members

President:  Kent
Secretary: Sieglinde Grivna –
Treasurer:  Sam
Director: Steven Light –
Member-At-Large:  Ron
Member-At-Large:  Andrew
Member-At-Large:  Joe

Section Leaders

Flutes:  Mara Wurm —
Clarinets: Sieglinde Grivna –
Saxophones: Amy Krauss –
French Horns: Bob Meier –
Trumpets: Ed Terhaar –
Trombones & Low Brass: Drake Bauer –
Percussion: Yvonne Thomas –

Volunteer Leads

It takes many hands to make a great community band! Volunteer leads head up various areas and coordinate the activities that support us in many ways. Our success is thanks to each member’s support.
Band wear: Lynn Fiscus –
Booking Coordinator: Kent Malcomson –
Calendar Coordinator: Barb Hovey –
Communications: OPEN
Dues Collection: Sam Eakins –
Fundraising: OPEN
Gift of Music Coordinator: OPEN
Inventory Coordinator: OPEN
Librarian: Sieglinde Grivna –
Membership Coordinator: Kent
Photographer: OPEN
Roster Coordinator:  Ron Rasmussen –
School District Liaison:  OPEN
Social Coordinator: OPEN
Sunshine Crew: OPEN
Treats Coordinator: OPEN
Publicity: OPEN
Volunteer Coordinator: OPEN
Webmaster: Amy Krauss –